CHOOSING MINIMALISM

Everything in life is a choice.

I chose to live a life with less.

Back in November of 2016, I stumbled across a few YouTubers who had a series of minimalism videos. I had no idea what minimalism was at the time, or how it would soon change the course of my life. Although I was clueless, I did notice one constant throughout all of the videos: these people were significantly happier because of this so-called minimalism. These people seemed to really have their sh*t together.

Right then and there I made a choice- I was going to simplify my life.

I’ve always had too much stuff. And still I always convinced myself I never had enough. No matter how many things I owned, I was never happy. I was attempting to fill some void inside of me that wasn’t meant to be filled with stuff in the first place.

After binge-watching videos of people decluttering their lives, I decided to begin where I saw most fit: my wardrobe. Over the course of one day, I got rid of about 70% of my wardrobe. I was shocked by how many clothes I accumulated over the years- some worn down to the thread, some never worn with the tags still on, some shoved in the corner of my dresser forgotten.

Five overflowing garbage bags later, I felt a weight lifted off my shoulders in the most literal sense of the phrase. My eyes lit up as I glanced over my culled wardrobe. The pieces left in my closet filled me with joy, and my personal style became more defined. And, for once in my life, I felt like I had enough.

From that day forward, I found myself going through each of my possessions and asking myself, Is this essential? Does this add value to my life? But more importantly, Is this contributing to my happiness or inhibiting it?

At this point, you might be wondering what minimalism is. Do I have to get rid of all my stuff? you ask. No.

Minimalism is about getting rid of the excess to make room for a more meaningful life.

Minimalism is about being intentional with what you own, and learning to let go of anything that no longer serves you.

Minimalism is not defined by the number of items you own, but I can promise you this: it feels pretty damn good to live with less stuff.

That’s the beauty of minimalism, you get to define what it means for you and for you only.

I’m simply here to share how I continue to redefine my life everyday, and hopefully inspire you in the process.

2 Replies to “CHOOSING MINIMALISM”

Leave a Reply

