NEW SKINCARE FAVORITES

In these past couple of months, I’ve become more invested in skincare and paying attention to how my skin looks and feels (it’s about time) while still trying to strip back on the amount of products used in my routine. However, in order to streamline my routine with a minimal amount of essentials, I have to test out new products to see what works for me and my skin type.

Especially when it comes to skincare, I believe in keeping things simple yet effective. We can stress or damage our skin by using too many products on a daily basis, or switching  them up too often.

Recently I added a few new products to my skincare routine that have already made a noticeable difference to my skin. Keep in mind that while these products are tried and true for me, everyone has different skin types and can react to certain formulas and ingredients in different ways. For reference during this post, my skin type is combination, meaning my skin is dry in some areas and oily in others (specifically my T-zone – my forehead, nose, and chin). My skin is also pretty sensitive, prone to frequent small breakouts and general redness/uneven texture on my face.


FIG + YARROW

I discovered the brand Fig + Yarrow while browsing the skincare aisle at Target a month ago. At first I was intrigued by their beautiful and simple packaging, so I had to take a look. All of their products are organic and handcrafted in the U.S.A., with plenty of botanical and earthly elements, and essential oils, thrown into the mix. Additionally, their products are: sulfate-free, fragrance-free, paraben-free, cruelty-free and much more (but unfortunately not $$$-free). So I decided to test out a few of their products to see how my skin reacted to natural skincare, because up until now I hadn’t really paid attention to ingredients and have been exposing my skin to god knows how many chemicals.


PALMAROSA + CHARCOAL FOAMING CREAM CLEANSER, $20

The Fig + Yarrow Foaming Cream Cleanser is what I use as my daily cleanser for both my morning and night skincare routine. The sulfate-free formula of  this cleanser includes activated charcoal and palmarosa. The charcoal boosts it’s antibacterial and detox powers, while the palmarosa contributes to wound-healing, oil reduction, moisture retention, cell regeneration and elimination of acne-causing factors. The cleanser can be used for any skin types, but is specifically targeted for oilier and acne-prone skin.

My skin feels instantly cleansed and refreshed after using this product, not to mention its gentle lemony-rose aroma that always lifts my mood. I’ve also noticed that I’ve had less breakouts in the past few weeks, which could be a combination of the other products but this is the only cleanser (besides an exfoliating cleanser that I’ll discuss later on) that I’ve been using morning and night.


ROSEHIP + ARGAN FACIAL SERUM, $23

After my morning cleanse, I go in with the Fig + Yarrow Facial Serum to nourish my skin. I’ve never used a serum as a part of my skincare routine before, but better late than never. This serum is derived from a combination of plant oils that provides a dose of both antioxidants and nutrients for your skin. Argan oil has a reputation for having miracle benefits, containing triterpinoids (for healing and protection), unsaturated fatty acids (antioxidants), tocopherals (neutralizes free-radicals for anti-aging benefits), saponins (skin-softening) and rare plant sterols (for moisture retention and inflammation reduction). The facial serum can be used for all skin types.

I massage a small amount of the serum onto my face after the cleanser and it doesn’t make me feel even more oily, just nourished. My skin feels so soft after using this and  gives me a nice “inner glow” without looking greasy.


ORANGE BLOSSOM + LAVENDER COMPLEXION WATER, $20

To get the full benefits of these products, it’s recommended that you use the Fig + Yarrow Complexion Water alongside their facial serum. So after I rub the serum into my skin, I spritz some of the complexion water over top. The orange blossom, combined with lavender, is not only used to treat stress and anxiety, but it also hydrates and rejuvenates the skin. The complexion water can be used for all skin types but is especially beneficial for sensitive skin- that’s me!

This product is the perfect end to my daily skincare routine because it feels like I’m locking in all the products I just used and keeps my skin nourished and hydrated. It can also be used throughout the day to refresh your face. It’s instantly calming when you spray it on your face (and let’s be honest- we could all use a little moment of calm before we start our day). I’ve used a fair share of facial sprays and none of them feel as refreshing and natural as this one.

RECAP

Since using these three products together exclusively on a regular basis, the most significant differences I’ve noticed is:

  • The overall redness in my face has reduced and my skin tone/texture is more even
  • My skin is much more soft and smooth
  • I’ve had less breakouts
  • My skin feels more hydrated and nourished (but not more oily)

 

PIXI BY PETRA

Another brand that caught my eye in the skincare aisle at Target (oh Target, you did it to me again) was Pixi Beauty. They have a skincare line called Pixi by Petra Skintreats that’s also organic, paraben-free and cruelty-free. Here are some of my favorite products by them that I’ve been incorporating into my skincare routine and, like Fig + Yarrow, have changed the game for me.


GLOW MUD CLEANSER, $18

I like to use the Pixi by Petra Glow Mud Cleanser a few times a week at night alongside my Fig + Yarrow Foaming Cream Cleanser. On days where I wear a lot of makeup or I feel like I need a deeper cleanse, I go in with this one before the Fig + Yarrow one because it’s a deep pore-cleansing mud that not only cleanses the skin but exfoliates it. This assures me that I’m really getting the makeup, oil and other gunk out of my pores. I then go in for a second cleanse with the Fig + Yarrow Foaming Cream Cleanser to remove any leftover residue and nourish my skin after exfoliating.

What I love most about the Glow Mud Cleanser is that it’s not gritty like a lot of other exfoliators; it’s really gentle and feels more like a cream, but still gets the exfoliating job done. Plus, you get a lot of product for the price. I mean, a 4 oz. bottle for $18 is a bang for your buck considering there are 1 oz. cleansers out there for like $40.


GLOW TONIC, $15

I’ve never tried a tonic before, *gasp*, so I wasn’t sure what to expect when I used this. The Pixi by Petra Glow Tonic claims to gently exfoliate to remove dead skin cells and reveal healthy glowing skin. The tonic is made with 5% Glyolic Acid Formula, Aloe Vera and Ginseng, and is suitable for all skin types.

Once again, Pixi has lived up to their claims. After using this as a part of my evening skincare routine, I’ve already noticed my complexion has evened out more, I have less breakouts, and my skin does look more healthy and “glowing” if you will. I always use this after I cleanse my skin and before I put on my moisturizer and I feel like it’s the perfect middle in my routine.


NOURISHING SLEEP MASK, $22

Before I go to bed at night, I always make sure to slab on the Pixi by Petra Nourishing Sleep Mask. It’s an overnight mask that locks in the nutrients from other products and moisturizes your skin while you sleep. It also claims to have long-term youth-preserving benefits. The sleep mask contains fatty acids to plump and regenerate, arginine to strengthen, and fruit & flower oils (including jojoba, lavender, and rose oil) to deeply nourish the skin.

I love this sleeping mask because it’s lightweight but powerful; it doesn’t feel heavy at all or transfer onto your pillow while you sleep. Whenever I use this, I wake up with soft, smooth, and radiant skin.


 


S.W. BASICS ORIGINAL CREAM, $22

Okay last product, I swear. I just couldn’t not mention this. What’s so amazing about the S.W. Basics Original Cream is that it contains three ingredients. Three. Ingredients. You heard me right. This certified organic cream is made from organic shea butter, organic coconut oil, and organic olive oil. Nothing more, nothing less. It also claims to be high in skin-nourishing essential fatty acids, powerful antioxidants, and lauric acid, all of which help neutralize the skin and reduce breakouts.

Most lotions and moisturizers are water-based, which is why they feel like they’ve left your skin after only a few minutes. This cream has no water whatsoever, and since it has over 60% shea butter, it absorbs deeply into the skin and stays put. Trust me, it’s not going anywhere. However, because this is such a heavy cream, it’s recommended for use at night. A little goes a long way with this product. I use it as the last step in my evening skincare routine a few nights per week before I go to bed, and it does leave my skin looking greasy (because it’s made from shea butter and coconut/olive oil) but it doesn’t transfer when I sleep, and when I wake up in the morning, my skin is insanely soft and nourished. Seriously, it feels like I shed off all my old crappy skin like a snake and formed new skin that looks and feels like a baby’s bottom.


 

That’s all, folks. Those are the products that have recently made their transition into my skincare routine. I honestly feel as if every single one of these products have transformed the way my skin looks and feels in some way. Just to quickly overview these past month’s results: the overall redness throughout my face has toned down and my skin texture and tone is more even; I’ve been experiencing less breakouts; my face feels like it’s retaining all the essential oils it needs, nothing more or less, and therefore feels nourished and hydrated all the time; and my skin is freakin’ smooth.

If you haven’t dipped your toe in the skincare pool yet, trust me it changes your life. Whether these specific products work for you or not, it’s so important to pay attention to your skin because it’s a reflection of your overall health. Not only will your skin look and feel better, but it will boost your confidence and overall mood so you’ll feel better on the inside, too.


 

*This post is not sponsored by any of these brands. I purchased all of these products myself and the opinions are entirely my own.

 

 

3 thoughts on “NEW SKINCARE FAVORITES”

Leave a Reply

